You are navigating on the Braun International site. Please select your country or region to view your local Braun products and offers

BraunPrize 2012 exhibition: Winners and shortlist projects of the 18th BraunPrize in 2012

2,399 submissions from 73 nations; Theme: Genius design for a better everyday

The BraunPrize jury gathered for the judging session at the BraunCollection in Kronberg, Germany in June 2012. In the first judging session the internationally renowned five-member jury of Design professionals evaluated and discussed the 2,399 entries based on the proposals containing sketches, images, technical drawings, movies, animations and project descriptions.

After the jurors familiarized themselves with the submitted work, many discussions followed to select the best entries. The final winners were selected by the guest judges at the Design Forum on September 26, 2012 – the original jury panel having already played their part by selecting 6 finalists, 3 Sustainability Award Winners, 30 National Winners and 20 Special Mentions.

The 6 finalists presented their projects to 125 guest judges in the BraunPrize Design Forum where they voted on the Gold, Silver and Bronze Winners of the Student and Professional/Enthusiast categories.

The BraunPrize 2012 winners were announced at the Award Ceremony later that evening, and all finalists are currently showcased in the BraunPrize 2012 exhibition.

The BraunPrize jury 2012 (from the left):

Prof. Oliver Grabes - Head of Braun Design, Chairman of the BraunPrize jury, Kronberg, GermanyProfessor of Industrial Design at the University of Wuppertal, Germany
Naoto Fukasawa - Industrial designer, founder of Naoto Fukasawa Design, Tokyo, Japan
Professor at Musashino Art University Tokyo, Japan
Jane Fulton Suri - Managing Partner and Creative Director at IDEO, Boston, USA
Prof. Anne Bergner - BraunPrize winner 1999, Design consultant, Munich, Germany
Professor of Integrated Product Design at University of Applied Sciences Coburg, Germany
Dr. Dirk Freund - Director R&D, Global Braun, Kronberg, Germany
PhD in Solid-State Electronics

BraunPrize 2012 exhibition

Global Award Winners: Students

Agil - Flexible Walking Aid - by Sebastian Reichel
First Aid Cover – Help in Emergencies - by Jussi Koskimäki
Mo – A Flexible Mobility System for the City of Tomorrow - by Dirk Hessenbruch

Sustainability Award Winners: Students

Nucleario – Geo Engeneering Concept – by Bruno Pagnoncelli
Ento – The Art of Eating Insects – by Julene Aguirre, Jacky Chung, Jonathan Fraser and Aran Dasan

Global Award Winners: Professionals & Enthusiasts

Känguru – Mobility Concept for the Urban Context with Infant – by Oliver Klein
Swyp – See What You Print – by Fernd van Engelen, Jonas Buck and Tucker Spofford
Rovey – Desktop Fan – by Kazuya Washio and Yu Kawashima

Sustainability Award Winner: Professional & Enthusiasts

Revolver – Personal Wind Turbine – by Paul Bradley, David Gustafson, Jonas Damon, Jinseok Hwang, Ryan Wickre and Brian Wasson

Download all BraunPrize 2012 shortlisted projects (PDF)

Professionals & Enthusiasts